School of Rock Session 1 Production Project

space

space” by fleskw is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Role

Bassist

Intention (SMART Goal)

By Oct. 12, as part of team # as Bassist, I will have evidence of Creating a song by following The 5 best ways to start a song by Andrew Huang for Session 1.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

00:16 The bass plays the roll in between melodic, harmonic and rythmic

1:31 a bassline can be driving for the song even if its incredibly simple

3:02 Arpeggio: The notes of a chord played in succession, either ascending or descending

Thundercat is mainly a bassist though he also plays guitar and does vocals. He makes funk, jazz, and rock, though that’s being pretty broad.

Training Source(s)

Bass Tabs

Bass tabs for Tank!. Tank! is an upbeat jazz fusion song. The bassline is pretty good practice for any bassist, and is generally just very fun to play. Im gonna be focusing on learning the entire song. The song isn’t very complex though it can very tiring to play.

Source 2

Notes

0:52 starting a song with drums can give it a lot of energy but not a lot of identity

1:57 The most natural things to add onto a drum beat are a chord progression or a bassline

2:16 you could take a chord progression you already know and completely change it by doing different things like playing it backwards or slowing it down.

7:07 Chords should usually be what you add after a melody if you start with a melody for a song.

Project Timeline

Proposed Budget

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (SOUND)

Skills Commentary

Slideshow

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

I didn’t make a song so there isn’t much I can put here.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I asked for help when I was stuck on certain things in GarageBand.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I watched certain YouTube videos and tutorials. specifically how to get things connected in GarageBand.

Reactions to the Final Version

I was absent when the professionals were here (not that I had a song to share in the first place) but Connor said to “focus on technique and positioning”.

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I had no song so there’s not much I can evaluate myself on. I think I improved my bass playing though.

Grammar and Spelling

I used Grammarly for spelling and grammar.

Editor

Warner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *